Congratulations to the winners!

Angela, Dymphny and Bob congratulate the winners of all of the categories of the Alberta Book Awards which were given out during a Gala dinner at the Writers Guild of Alberta Conference on June 9, 2012, in Calgary. There were 195 submissions spread over the 5 categories: Children’s Literature, Fiction, Nonfiction, Drama, and Poetry. Awarded at the same time were the Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award, the James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction, the Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story, and the WGA Golden Pen Award to acknowledge the lifetime achievements of an outstanding Alberta writer.

This year the honours were awarded to:

Cathy Ostler, R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

Lynn Coady, Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

Alice Major, Wilfred Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Nicole Moeller, Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

Tim Bowling, Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

Alison Karlene Hodgins, Amber Bowerman Memorial Award for Travel Writing

Jannie Edwards, James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

Amy Bright, Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

The WGA Golden Pen Award was received by award winning Alberta author, mentor, and former President of the WGA, Fred Stenson.

Leave a Reply